Refusing to Move Out at 22?!

 Hello sweeties! 

When I got the call that my family and I was picked out of many other applicants to get the 2 bedroom townhouse perfect for my small family, I was genuinely excited. 

When my fiancé and I actually signed our signature on the contract labeled lease, I began to come hesitant and nervous. I wanted to walk out the office and run back to the one place I truly called home. The place where I can cherish the last of my mother’s memories.

I have to admit being in my early 20s with a small family, I thought 5 years after my mother’s passing, moving out would be a “stroll through the park” mentally – wrong!

 Moving out is a huge step in a person’s life, that’s the huge step into the real world. But actually packing up away the belongings/memories and moving away from the last place I was genuinely happy growing up in. 

However, becoming homesick was the last thing I expected to happen while in the process of moving.

I was excited for the new beginnings to come. I was looking for hours on Pinterest for modern home decor for all the rooms of the townhouse! That you can check out my creative side here

It’s about that time I take that big step into the “real world” with “real world” problems with my little family and begin to create memories of our own, in our own place. And what I mean by “real world” problems is bills,bills and more bills! When your splitting the bills amongst 4 other siblings, I was able to tuck away a good amount for savings. (Cha-Ching!) Now I have to get use to paying more cash than I would like.

It didn’t hit me that I was actually moving until my fiancé asked how many boxes should he purchase for the move and which company for the moving truck.

 

I didn’t want to move anymore, I didn’t want to forget all the memories that was created by my siblings, mom and I. Every room is just how my mom left it after she passed away. 

I still decorate the Christmas tree with the same ornaments she used to decorate the tree with. 

It’s not fair to my family, I can’t be selfish to them by dwelling on something that’s a part of life and nothing  an be done away unfortunately. There’re many ways I can cherish the memories that my siblings, mom and I created while she was still alive:

  • Pictures.
  • Stories.
  • Home made videos.
  • Favorite items. (Music, food, movie etc.)
  • Activities in their honor.

And plenty more.. 

It’s going to be hard to move away from the once place I ever truly called home, but if I’m ever feeling homesick, it’s only a few blocks down the street! So I can always visit. Haha!

Until next time!

XOXO- Aneesha

Follow Me: Twitter | Pinterest |

