How to Practice Self-Care Like a PRO

Hello lovelies! In our everyday lives we tend to get caught up in our daily responsibilities, personal life and things that cause a huge amount of stress. But, One thing that most find as a challenge, is slowing down. Pay attention to your body and practice self-care. Simple right? Yet, How does one practice self-care? 

Does any of the questions apply to you?

  1. Always feel restless and cranky?
  2. Always feeling moody and irritable?
  3. Lack of motivation to complete a task?

Literally all 3 questions applied to me after I gave birth to my son in December of 2015. While trying to adjust to being a young mother of two young children for the first year of Carter’s life, I’ve found it extremely difficult to get up in the morning without hitting the snooze button atleast 10 times first. And then it hit me, I don’t have anything exciting to wake up to in the morning, My morning routine was filled with poopy diapers, under-eye bags and little to no sleep. My routine was no longer cutting it and luckily I’ve tried a few methods that gets me up before the alarm and improves my health and morning routine! Killing 3 birds with one stone type of deal going on here.

Here’s my tips to improve self-care

  1. Set aside time– It’s very important to give yourself quality alone time. And I mean by yourself, No kids, spouse, no pets no one. Use this time to clear your thoughts and detox after a stressful day.
  2. Journal/Diary– Writing out my worries and/or frustration was a great way to lay “everything” out on the table. It doesn’t take long to rant for 10 minutes on a piece of paper to feel mentally better.
  3. Pamper yourself– Have a mini pamper session to release all the toxins from the rough day you had. Get a massage,manicure or taking a long bath. Anything that will bring your stress level down to 0.
  4. Something you enjoy– It could be exercise, baking or any other physical activity. Anything that will keep your attention focused on what you enjoy, rather than the stress-filled day.
  5. Grateful List– Everytime I’m feeling blue, I always make a list of things I’m grateful for and that money can’t buy. Once I read over what I wrote, It makes me forget about the bad day I had and focus on what truly matters.
  6. Get dressed up– For no reason at all, just dress yourself in your favorite/best attire. There were some days I would come home feeling defeated. I would take a glimpse of my makeup bag and closet and went right into character. Making myself appear beautiful with cosmetics always put a smile on my face after a bad day.
  7. Prepare your favorite meal– After a long eventful day, Going home to prepare your favorite meal always make anyone’s mood shift for the better. Not only does it have something to look forward too but it also make sure your eating proper amount of meals throughout day.
  8. Write a list of your goals(My Favorite)- Remind yourself this feeling is only temporary. Right down your goals to remind yourself, you haven’t achieved them yet and to get your butt up and get stuff accomplished.
  9. Ask for help– I’ll admit this one can be the hardest on the list to complete. If your similar to me, I have a lot of pride. And asking for help seemed like I couldn’t get stuff done alone. It’s okay to ask for help! Put your pride aside and get the offered help.

All these methods has personally worked for me to get up in the morning and be productive. Give it a go and let me know in the comments which methods worked for you and what methods would you like to add. Until next time loves!

XOX,

Aneesha

Follow me: Pinterest | Twitter | 

